Smith Jr. Adds Name to International Winners List

RIVER GLADE, NB (August 24, 2012) - With his win in Friday's Jones Auto Body Twin 75s at Petty International Raceway Russell Smith Jr. will become the 30th different driver to have his name etched on the illustrious River Glade International winner's cup. Smith beat Chris Reid (second) and Cal Hatfield (third) to the finish line with a 2.32-second margin of victory.

GT Enterprises Sportsman division point leader Dave O'Blenis finished fourth and Ken MacKenzie finished fifth on the 26-car field. It took one hour 15 minutes to run the race which included seven caution periods. Reid, Shawn McLean, and Smith won the sportsman heat races.

It was Martin Landry picking up the win in the street stock division, followed to the checkers by Jamie Vassallo (second) and Devin Snell (third). Rick Cashol and Andrew Rodgers rounded out the top five finishers. Cashol won the street stock heat race.

The Mister Transmission Mini Stock division saw Mike Weagle take the checkered flag with Gerald Brun second and Brad Daley third. Deven Smith and Mike Phillips were fourth and fifth, respectively. Brun won the Mini Stock heat race.

It was Chad MacDonald winning the Leisure Days RV Bandolero feature with Cole Tanner second and Drew Greenlaw third. Dawson McIntee was fourth and Cole Boudreau was fifth. MacDonald led all 30 laps en route to the win. Dana Hamm and MacDonald won the Bandolero heat races.



Jones Auto Body Twin 75s (a River Glade International event)

  1. Russell Smith Jr.
  2. Chris Reid
  3. Cal Hatfield
  4. Dave O'Blenis
  5. Ken MacKenzie
  6. Laurie Cormier
  7. Kyle Reid
  8. Colby Smith
  9. Claude Gaudet
  10. Dana Duncan
  11. Dan Bourque
  12. John Rankin
  13. Luc Bourgeois
  14. Marcel Maillet
  15. Dan Duke
  16. Shawn McLean
  17. Matt Maillett
  18. Lonnie Sommerville
  19. Mark Harris
  20. Jerry Hayes
  21. Bill Sommerville
  22. Mike Power Jr.
  23. Doug White
  24. Gary Tingley
  25. Rob Raynes
  26. Byron Bartlett

Heat Race # 1: Chris Reid
Heat Race # 2: Shawn McLean
Heat Race #3: Russell Smith Jr.

STREET STOCK (30 laps)

  1. Martin Landry
  2. Jamie Vassallo
  3. Devin Snell
  4. Rick Cashol
  5. Mike Duskey
  6. Marshall Berry
  7. Joel Clancy
  8. Geoff Tugwell
  9. Rob Pethick
  10. Spencer Snelgrove

Heat Race #1: Rick Cashol


  1. Mike Weagle
  2. Gerald Brun
  3. Brad Daley
  4. Deven Smith
  5. Mike Phillips
  6. Rodney Campbell
  7. Brandon Skidmore
  8. Dustin Phillips
  9. Brady Taylor
  10. Neil Crawford
  11. Ryan Knowles

Heat Race #1: Gerald Brun


  1. Chad MacDonald
  2. Cole Tanner
  3. Drew Greenlaw
  4. Dawson McIntee
  5. Cole Boudreau
  6. Alexandra O'Blenis
  7. Courtney O'Blenis
  8. Alicia Mowat
  9. Braden Langille
  10. Dana Hamm
  11. Mackenzie Brewer
  12. Bryar Ellis
  13. Joshua Langille
  14. Nathan Blackburn
  15. Jarred Butcher
  16. Adam Meehan
  17. Michael Cormier
  18. Luke Ettinger
  19. Cory Hall
  20. Ryan Messer

Heat Race # 1: Dana Hamm
Heat Race # 2: Chad MacDonald

Petty International Raceway sees the finale of its River Glade International double-header weekend Saturday with the final stop of 2012 in New Brunswick for the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour. An extra-distance feature, the Irving Max1 150 - a River Glade International event, will cap the weekend festivities. More than 20 of the regions top racers will be joined by Dean Clattenburg - a former MASCAR rookie of the year, now long-time North Carolina transplant - driving Rollie MacDonald's No. 13 entry.

The Maritime League of Legends will round out the show Saturday at Petty; pro stock time trials start at 5:10 and racing starts at 6 p.m.

The River Glade International was founded in 1965 and until 2009 was run at River Glade Speedway. Since then 29 different drivers have won the race and seen their names etched on the illustrious International Cup. In 48 years only 10 of the 29 have won the International more than once with local legend Frank Fraser leading the way with six victories; other multi-time winners include Jim Hallahan (1966, 1968), Don Biederman (1969, 1970), Adelard Cormier (1967, 1973), Greg Sewart (1983, 1984, 1987), Tim Rodgers (1990, 1993, 1997, 1998), Ian Mollins (1994, 1995), Ken MacKenzie (2000, 2001), Gary Hicks (2005, 2006), and Mike Power Jr. (2008, 2009).

Petty International Raceway is located on Highway 106, just 40 km west of Moncton, New Brunswick. To learn more about Petty International Raceway, its location, admission, policies, history, and more, please visit or call the event hotline at 506.372.8080. To receive current updates please follow us on Twitter (@pettyraceway_nb).

Return to main page